Advisory Groups

Vaccine Advisory Committee

Aeras’ Vaccine Advisory Committee (VAC) provides external expert advice on criteria for vaccine candidate selection, preclinical stage-gating, and priorities for advancing candidates in preclinical and clinical portfolios. The VAC, which meets at least twice a year, advises Aeras on a broad range of crucial product development issues including: development plans, regulatory strategy, epidemiology studies, innovative clinical trial designs and downstream market considerations.

Ann M. Ginsberg, MD, PhD (Secretariat) - Aeras

Marcel Behr, MD - McGill University

Ralf Clemens, MD, PhD - Takeda Pharmaceuticals

Patricia E. Fast, MD, PhD - IAVI

Barney S. Graham, MD, PhD - Vaccine Research Center, NIAID, NIH

Peggy Johnston - Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Rino Rappuoli, PhD - Novartis Vaccines & Diagnostics

Robin Wood, MD DSC (Med) - Desmond Tutu HIV Centre Institute of Infectious Disease, University of Cape Town

Douglas Young, MD - Imperial College London, National Institute for Medical Research

Barry Bloom, PhD - ex officio, Harvard University

Gerd Zettlmeissl, PhD - ex officio, Intercell AG

Biomarkers and Correlates Working Group

The Biomarkers and Correlates Working Group (BCWG) reviews progress in the field of correlates and biomarkers, including gaps and new developments in the field. The group also helps design Aeras studies and advises on funding needs.

JoAnne Flynn, PhD (Chair) - University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine

Professor Glyn Hewinson - Veterinary Laboratories Agency

Willem Hanekom, MBChB - Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Christopher Karp - 
Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Stefan H. E. Kaufmann, PhD
Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology

Tom H. M. Ottenhoff, MD, PhD - 
Leiden University Medical Center

Thomas J. Scriba, PhD - South African TB Vaccine Initiative

Robert A. Seder, M.D. - National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Vaccine Research Center

Alan Sher, PhD - National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)

Christine Sizemore, PhD
 - Division of Microbiology and Infectious Diseases (DMID), National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)

Lewis Schrager, MD - Aeras

Daniel Zak, PhD - Center for Infectious Disease Research